Tornado Moscow win EWCC

Tornado Moscow win EWCC

17 Mar 2014 | Dennis Mende

From 14-16 March 2014 the European Women's Champions Cup final tournament was played in Bad Tölz, Germany. Favourites Tornado Moscow won their third consecutive championship for a total of four won EWCC titles.


When it comes to European women's ice hockey club competitions Tornado Moscow are the dominant force in recent years. In Bad Tölz the team from Russia won their third consecutive championship by winning all three games in regulation. With now four titles they are tied as the co-record champions together with AIK Solna who won the first four editions of the competition that was first played in 2004. 

Tornado already had won the tournament after wins against the strongest competitors AIK Solna (6-1) and Espoo Blues (3-1). In both games Slovakian goalie Zuzana Tomcikova only allowed one goal each and was rewarded with the award as best goalie of the tournament. In the last group match on Sunday Russian national goalie Anna Prugova who played in the Sochi Olympics in February stood between the posts and recorded a shutout in the win against ESC Planegg (4-0) so that HC Tornado ended the tournament with a perfect 3-0-0-0 record. Tornado's American forward Kelley Steadman recorded 6 points (5 goals, 1 assist) in the three games ans was crowned best forward of the tournament.

AIK Solna were able to get the secon spot despite a sensational loss against German side ESC Planegg (3-4 SO) in the second tournament game on Saturday. In the final game they beat the Espoo Blues (3-1). For Planegg the European adventure started with a loss against Espoo (1-3) before losing against AIK and Tornado for a last place finish. At least Planegg's Swiss player Kathrin Lehmann received the honour as best defender.        

Underdogs Planegg's head coach Brian Ashton said after the tournament: "I am very pleased with my team. We wanted to test ourselves here and not hide. The players gave their maximum effort and gained self-confidence. We almost were at the same level as the other teams, maybe just a centimetre behind. I gained important insight from the way my team played in this tournament and know what we have to improve for the next season."

Final tournament player awards:

Best goalie: Zuzana Tomcikova (Tornado Moscow)

Best defender: Kathrin Lehmann (ESC Planegg)

Best forward: Kelley Steadman (Tornado Moscow)

Final Standings:

# Club G W W-OTL-OTL Score P
1HC Tornado3300013:2 9
2AIK310117:11 4
3Espoo Blues310025:7 3
4ESC Planegg301025:10 2

Ico Facebook Ico Ico Stumbleupon Ico Twitter Ico Digg it
Recent transfersShow all transfers»
  1. 06 Mar 2021 |  Emmanuil Shafeyev  (F)
    Izhstal Izhevskarrowunknown
  2. 06 Mar 2021 |  Andrew Nielsen  (D)
    Black Wings 1992arrowHershey Bears
  3. 06 Mar 2021 |  Jeff Fearing  (F)
    Löwen Frankfurt 1barrowEG Diez-Limburg
  4. 05 Mar 2021 |  Michael Baindl  (F)
    Starbulls RosenheimarrowTEV Miesbach
  5. 05 Mar 2021 |  Vadim Shakhraichuk  (C)
    CSM Dunarea GalatiarrowUkraine
  6. 05 Mar 2021 |  Tim Wieser  (F)
    EHC Winterthurarrowretired as player
  7. 05 Mar 2021 |  Ivan Nalimov  (G)
    Dinamo RigaarrowRockford Icehogs

Current events

External links


Czech Rep.:  Tipsport extraliga | 1.liga | 2.liga

Finland:  Liiga | Mestis

Germany:  DEL | DEL2

Russia:  KHL | VHL

Slovakia:  Tipsport Extraliga | 1.liga

Sweden:  SHL | HockeyAllsvenskan

Switzerland:  NLA | NLB

Other:  EBEL | Belarus | Croatia | Denmark | Estonia | France | Great Britain | Iceland | Italy | Latvia | Lithuania | MOL-liga | Norway | Poland | Romania | Serbia | Slovenia | Spain | NHL | AHL |

Leagues statistic
League standings
Game fixtures
League leaders

Eihl to initiate a mini series

Ahead of the coming World Championships the EIHL is to host a new mini series. Read more»

Short tournament to be played in the UK

A short Cup competition involving four teams is to be played from next week in England. Read more»

© Copyright 2021 European Ice Hockey Online AB & s.r.o. |
Hokejová výstroj