Cardiff win Eihl Play Off Final

Cardiff win Eihl Play Off Final

Robert Newbolt14 Apr 2019Robert Newbolt»

Cardiff Devils secured back to back play off titles after defeating Belfast Giants.


In a game in which Belfast had most of the play the difference between the two sides was Ben Bowns in the Cardiff goal and his defence.

Cardiff Devils forward Mike Hedden broke the deadlock in this one sixteen minutes into the first period when he picked up the puck ten yards out after a turnover and lasered a shot past the blocker of Tyler Beskorowany in the Belfast goal.

The second period was quieter after the controversial first session in which Darcy Murphy left the ice with a concussion and even although Belfast finished strongly with Shields hitting the post and Bowns pulling of 3 fantastic saves on a powerplay late in the period.

The game was tied up on the 50 minute mark when a long wrist shot from Kevin Raine crept between the legs of an unsighted Bowns.

However, just over two minutes had passed when Gleason Fournier collected a pass beyond the red line, passed it off and skated to the net for the return from Pope, he then slotted past Beskorowany to put Cardiff 2-1 up.

Despite concerted pressure there were no further goals and Cardiff were crowned champions.

Ico Facebook Ico Ico Stumbleupon Ico Twitter Ico Digg it
Recent transfersShow all transfers»


Czech Rep.:  Tipsport extraliga | 1.liga | 2.liga

Finland:  Liiga | Mestis

Germany:  DEL | DEL2

Russia:  KHL | VHL

Slovakia:  Tipsport Extraliga | 1.liga

Sweden:  SHL | HockeyAllsvenskan

Switzerland:  NLA | NLB

Other:  EBEL | Belarus | Croatia | Denmark | Estonia | France | Great Britain | Iceland | Italy | Latvia | Lithuania | MOL-liga | Norway | Poland | Romania | Serbia | Slovenia | Spain | NHL | AHL |

Leagues statistic
League standings
Game fixtures
League leaders

Thailand wins SEA games in Manila

Thailand was outstanding at the Southeast Asian Games in Manila, Philippines, beating Singapore 8-0 in the final. Read more»

Who Will Claim the Ice Hockey World Title in 2020?

First held at the 1920 Summer Olympics, the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship is an annual tournament and one of the most exciting ones as well. The high-profile tournament was formed in 1908 and first held in 1920. In the beginning, ... Read more»

© Copyright 2019 European Ice Hockey Online AB & s.r.o. |
Hokejová výstroj