NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey Awards Given Out

NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey Awards Given Out

07 Apr 2012 | Raymond Rolak

Jack Connolly won the Hobey Baker Award as the NCAA player of the year.


Tampa - The 2011-2012 NCAA Division-I, men’s ice hockey All-America team was released
during the Frozen Four here. Also, on the off day before the upcoming championship game
between Boston College and Ferris State, the Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner was
announced at a ceremony at MacDill Air Force Base.

This year’s Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner was senior forward Jack Connolly of Minnesota-Duluth.

The Hobey Baker Award is given to the best Division-I, Player of the Year. The honor is named after the former Princeton great who was killed in France at the end of World War I in an aviation crash. As part of the festivities, the Baker family was presented with the Croix de Guerre (Cross of War), a French medal for heroism.

Connolly had a 20-40-60 points scoring total this season in 41 games and was a three time Western Collegiate Hockey Association first team honoree. Also, he was a three time All-America. An academic standout, he was one of the forces leading UMD to the NCAA
championship last season.

Connolly gave a warm acceptance, “Although I’m the one receiving this great honor, it would not have been possible without my teammates and I share this all with them.” Connolly added, “I would like to give a special thank you to the UMD coaching staff -- head coach Scott Sandelin, current assistant coaches Derek Plante, Jason Herter, and Bill Watson, and my two former assistant coaches Steve Rohlik, and Brett Larson for having a lasting impact on my college hockey career.”

Before the awards ceremony UMD head coach Scott Sandelin said about the Duluth native son, “Classy is the best way to describe Jack, so these are certainly fitting and well-deserved honors for him. “Everything he does -- on and off the ice -- he does with class. I really can’t say enough about what this young man has meant to our program, our school, and our community over the past four years.”

Connolly becomes the fifth UMD player to claim the Hobey Baker Award in its 32 years of existence. He joins Junior Lessard, Chris Marinucci, Bill Watson and Tom Kurvers.

Jack’s older brother, Chris Connolly, was a senior and captain of Boston College this season and won the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award and was named Hockey East Second Team All-Star.

NOTE: The NCAA semifinals had an announced attendance at 18,605.

NCAA 2011-2012 Men’s Ice Hockey All-America’s

First Team - East

Goalie- Troy Grosenick, SO, Union College
Defense- Danny Biega, JR, Harvard University
Defense- Brian Dumoulin, JR, Boston College
Forward- Spencer Abbott, SR, University of Maine
Forward- Alex Killorn, SR, Harvard University
Forward- Austin Smith, SR, Colgate University Forward

First Team - West

Goalie- Taylor Nelson, SR, Ferris State University
Defense- Torey Krug, JR, Michigan State University
Defense- Justin Schultz, JR, University of Wisconsin
Forward- Jack Connolly, SR, University of Minnesota-Duluth
Forward- Jaden Schwartz, SO, Colorado College
Forward- Reilly Smith, JR, Miami University

Second Team - East

Goalie- Joe Cannata, SR, Merrimack College
Defense- Mat Bodie, SO, Union College
Defense- Tim Kirby, SR, U.S. Air Force Academy
Forward- Barry Almeida, SR, Boston College
Forward- Brian O’Neill, SR, Yale University
Forward- Jeremy Welsh, JR, Union College

Second Team - West

Goalie- Kent Patterson, SR, University of Minnesota
Defense- Chad Billins, SR, Ferris State University
Defense- Dan DeKeyser, SO, Western Michigan University
Forward- Nick Bjugstad, SO, University of Minnesota
Forward- J.T. Brown, SO, University of Minnesota-Duluth
Forward- Jason Zucker, SO, University of Denver

Ico Facebook Ico Ico Stumbleupon Ico Twitter Ico Digg it
Recent transfersShow all transfers»
  1. 03 Dec 2023 |  Lukas Zejdl  (F)
    HC Slavia Prahaarrowunknown
  2. 03 Dec 2023 |  Maksim Zakharov  (F)
    HK Lidaarrowunknown
  3. 03 Dec 2023 |  Denis Mikhnin  (F)
    HK NorilskarrowShakhtar Soligorsk
  4. 03 Dec 2023 |  Dmitri Sidlyarov  (F)
    Metallurg NovokuznetskarrowDizel Penza
  5. 03 Dec 2023 |  Savely Kuvardin  (F)
    HK ChelnyarrowCSK VVS Samara
  6. 03 Dec 2023 |  Vladislav Svetov  (D)
    HK ChelnyarrowCSK VVS Samara
  7. 03 Dec 2023 |  Vladimir Grebenshchikov  (D)
    HC Torpedo Ust-KamenogorskarrowBeybarys Atyrau

External links


Czech Rep.:  Tipsport extraliga | 1.liga | 2.liga

Finland:  Liiga | Mestis

Germany:  DEL | DEL2

Russia:  KHL | VHL

Slovakia:  Tipsport Extraliga | 1.liga

Sweden:  SHL | HockeyAllsvenskan

Switzerland:  NLA | NLB

Other:  EBEL | Belarus | Croatia | Denmark | Estonia | France | Great Britain | Iceland | Italy | Latvia | Lithuania | MOL-liga | Norway | Poland | Romania | Serbia | Slovenia | Spain | NHL | AHL |

Leagues statistic
League standings
Game fixtures
League leaders

It’s a Welsh party in Grenoble

Cardiff Devils won by one-goal-difference against home side Grenoble and advances to the Continental Cup Superfinals along with Nomad Astana Read more»

Nomad makes no exceptions

Kazakh champion closes the Continental Cup semifinals round with a perfect record, by beating HK Zemgale in the last game Read more»

© Copyright 2023 European Ice Hockey Online AB & s.r.o. | | Cookies settings
Hokejová výstroj