Miskolc wins MOL League

Miskolc wins MOL League

15 Mar 2015 | Szabolcs Závodszky

For the first time in club history the Miskolc have won the MOL League title in a four game sweep of HC Nové Zámky with game four being a dramatic come from behind overtime thriller.


Going into game four Miskolc had the momentum after they scored a late goal in game three to be up 3-0 with a chance to clinch the title on home ice, in front of an overflowing crowd. Game four was a true battle as both teams were fight for each puck and not willing to give an inch to the other. At first it looked as if the age and wisdom of Nové Zámky, who dressed four players over the age of 40 would get the better of Miskolc. As as it looked that Miskolc would be able to kill the first powerplay of the game the veteran Marek Uram pulled trick out of his bag and flipped the puck off of goalie Bence Bálizs’ back from behind the end line, a truly veteran move. Miskolc worked out scoring chances but Pavel Krajcovic stood tall in the Nové Zámky net.

At the start of the second period Marek Uram was on his toes again, sixtyfive seconds into the second period Uram put the defending champions up 2-0 buried the puck past Bálizs, who was voted as the top goalie by the coaches. Three minutes later Albin Podstavek took a mid range shot that got past Bálizs, the goal took some air out of the fans who up until then had been screaming their heads off. Péter Klobucnik made it 4-0, at this point people were looking around saying that now they know what they will be doing Monday night that is when game 5 was scheduled for. In the closing minutes Miskolc had 5 on 3 powerplay and they knew that they had to score if they wanted to get back into the game. MOL League defenseman of the year Jesse Dudas fired a rocket past Krajcovic end his shutout, but the team still had a lot of work left.

Read more here

End of season awards

Goalie of the year: Bence Bálizs (Miskolc)

Defenceman of the year: Jesse Dudas (Miskolc)

Forward of the year
: Teemu Elomo (Ujpest)

Playoff MVP: Keegan Dansereau (Miskolc)

All Star team: Janins Kalnins (DAB.Docler), Jesse Dudas (Miskolc) Pavel Kowalczyk (Nové Zámky) Keegan Dansereau (Miskolc) Tihamér Becze (Miskolc) Teemu Elomo (Ujpest)

Ico Facebook Ico Del.icio.us Ico Stumbleupon Ico Twitter Ico Digg it
Recent transfersShow all transfers»
  1. 17 Jun 2021 |  Jesse Pelamo  (F)
    HC Cergy-PontoisearrowNice HCA
  2. 17 Jun 2021 |  Radek Míka  (D)
    HC Neuilly-sur-MarnearrowHG Dunkerque
  3. 17 Jun 2021 |  Marc Aeschlimann  (F)
    HC Davosarrowunknown
  4. 17 Jun 2021 |  Arttu Nevasaari  (F)
    TPS TurkuarrowHermes Kokkola
  5. 17 Jun 2021 |  Samu Koskenkorva  (D)
    Kärpät OuluarrowHermes Kokkola
  6. 17 Jun 2021 |  Samuel Kemppainen  (D)
    Jukurit MikkeliarrowHermes Kokkola
  7. 17 Jun 2021 |  Juho Juvonen  (D)
    IFK HelsinkiarrowHermes Kokkola

External links


Czech Rep.:  Tipsport extraliga | 1.liga | 2.liga

Finland:  Liiga | Mestis

Germany:  DEL | DEL2

Russia:  KHL | VHL

Slovakia:  Tipsport Extraliga | 1.liga

Sweden:  SHL | HockeyAllsvenskan

Switzerland:  NLA | NLB

Other:  EBEL | Belarus | Croatia | Denmark | Estonia | France | Great Britain | Iceland | Italy | Latvia | Lithuania | MOL-liga | Norway | Poland | Romania | Serbia | Slovenia | Spain | NHL | AHL |

Leagues statistic
League standings
Game fixtures
League leaders

Belarus leagues system undergoes major changes

A new Extraliga and Vysshaya League are born aiming to increase competitiveness Read more»

Yunost Minsk excluded from CHL

The Champions Hockey League Board cancelled the Wild Card for Belarusian champion Read more»

© Copyright 2021 European Ice Hockey Online AB & eSports.cz s.r.o. | info@eurohockey.com
Hokejová výstroj