Want your name, logo or link here ? Sponsor this profile.


  • League status: Active
  • Youth league: yes, U20
  • Administered by: Canadian Hockey League
  • Head manager: Ron Robison
  • Year of start: 1966
  • WWW: http://www.whl.ca/

Did you find any incorrect or incomplete information? Please, let us know.

Recent transfersShow all transfers»
16 Jun 2024 | Elias Knoester  (F) Lethbridge HurricanesarrowLuleå Hockey
27 May 2024 | Frantisek Formanek  (F) Red Deer RebelsarrowHC Dynamo Pardubice B
27 May 2024 | Jackson Desouza  (D) Brandon Wheat KingsarrowLillehammer IK
18 May 2024 | Axel Hurtig  (D) Rögle BKarrowCalgary Hitmen
League leaders |  season 2023-2024 all time stats
# Player name Pos Team GP G A P PIM +/-
1.Jagger FirkusCMoose Jaw Warriors6361651263031
2.Zac FunkFPrince George Cougars6867561236356
3.Riley HeidtFPrince George Cougars6637801174234
4.Berkly CattonFSpokane Chiefs6854621164115
5.Andrew CristallLWKelowna Rockets6240711114623
6.Conner RouletteFSpokane Chiefs6845631084010
7.Gabe KlassenLWPortland Winterhawks6735711062850
8.Terik ParascakRWPrince George Cougars6843621054149
9.James StefanRWPortland Winterhawks6750511015147
10.Trevor WongCSaskatoon Blades6815861013922
Show all stats for season 2023-2024

The WHL is one of three leagues that constitute the Canadian Hockey League (CHL) as the highest level of junior hockey in Canada. Teams play for the Ed Chynoweth Cup, with the winner moving on to play for the Memorial Cup, Canada's national junior championship.
The top eight teams in each conference qualify for the playoffs, with the division winners declared the top two seeds in the first round of the post-season. The four remaining teams in each conference are reseeded by regular season points in the second round of the playoffs

The WHL comprises 22 teams, divided into two conferences of two divisions. The Eastern Conference comprises 12 teams from Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia, while the Western Conference comprises ten teams from British Columbia, and the US states of Washington and Oregon.

The WHL was founded in 1966 with seven teams in Saskatchewan and Alberta. It is the brainchild of Bill Hunter, who intended to build a western league capable of competing with the top leagues in Ontario and Quebec. Originally considered an "outlaw league" by the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association, the WHL was sanctioned as the top junior league in Western Canada when junior hockey was reorganized in 1970. WHL teams have won the Memorial Cup 18 times since the league became eligible to compete for the trophy.

Most goals in a season: 108, Ray Ferraro, 1983-84
Most assists in a season: 136, Rob Brown, 1986-87
Most points in a season: 212, Rob Brown, 1986-87
Most penalty minutes in a season: 511, Brent Gogol, 1977-78
Most points in a season, rookie: 145, Petr Nedved, 1989-90
Most points in a season, defenceman: 140, Cam Plante, 1983-84
Most hat-tricks in a season: 15, Ray Ferraro, 1983-84
Most goals in a single game: 7, Five times, last by Kimbi Daniels, 1990-91
Most wins in a season: 60, Victoria Cougars, 1980-81
Most wins in an inaugural season: 35, Everett Silvertips, 2003-04
Most points in a season: 125, Brandon Wheat Kings, 1978-79
Most goals in a season: 496, Kamloops Blazers, 1986-87
Fewest goals against in a season: 125, Kelowna Rockets, 2003-04
Most powerplay goals in a season: 180, Swift Current Broncos, 1988-89

Trophies and awards
The Ed Chynoweth Cup is awarded to the WHL's champion
Ed Chynoweth Cup-playoff champions
Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy-regular season champions
Four Broncos Memorial Trophy-player of the year
Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Trophy-scholastic player of the year
Bob Clarke Trophy-top scorer
Brad Hornung Trophy-most sportsmanlike player
Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy-top defencemen
Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy-rookie of the year
Del Wilson Trophy-top goaltender
Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy-coach of the year
Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy-executive of the year
Allen Paradice Memorial Trophy-top official
St. Clair Group Trophy-marketing/public relations award
Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy-humanitarian of the year
WHL Plus-Minus Award
airBC Trophy-most valuable player in the playoffs

Recent articlesShow all articles»
Recent newsShow all news»

Oshawa wins Memorial Cup

Oshawa Generals won Memorial Cup last night after beating Kelowna Rockets 2-1 in the final. Oshawa had one European player on the roster: Tobias Lindberg of Sweden who lead the team in scoring with three goals and two assists.

The German forward of Kelowna Rockets, Leon Draisaitl, was the Memorial Cup top scorer with four goals and three assists.

(01 Jun 2015)

CHL import draft

The CHL import draft is currently in progress. Pavel Zacha of Czech Republic was the first player to be selected. Sarnia Sting of OHL picked him.
Detailed report will follow later.

(02 Jul 2014)

Edmonton Oil Kings wins Memorial Cup

Edmonton Oil Kings with the European players Henrik Samuelsson, Mads Eller and Edgars Kulda has won Memorial Cup, the Canadian junior championship.

(26 May 2014)

Don Hay to coach Canada U18 at WJC

Hockey Canada announces that Don Hay, head coach of the WHL's Vancouver Giants, will be the head coach of Canada's National Men's Under-18 Team for the 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship, April 18-28 in Sochi, Russia.
Hockey Canada also announced that Jody Hull, head coach of the OHL's Peterborough Petes, and Yves Sarault have been named assistant coaches.

(25 Mar 2013)

Glen Hanlon appointed as assistant coach in WHL

The Vancouver Giants of the WHL announced that Glen Hanlon has been appointed as the club's new assistant coach. The former Belarus and Slovakia coach signed a multi-year deal with the organization.
At the club level, Hanlon has coached the AHL Portland Pirates, the Washington Capitals, Finnish Jokerit and Belarusian Dinamo Minsk.
"Junior hockey is the one level I have never coached at. I am excited to get the chance to work with young players and to learn and work with Don Hay, who I believe is the best junior coach in Canada," said Hanlon.

(23 Jun 2011)

Chilliwack Bruins relocate to Victoria to become Victoria Royals

After the league announced the relocation of the Chilliwack Bruins to the British Columbia capital Victoria, the Western Hockey League (WHL) announce that the team has selected the nickname Royals for the franchise.
The logo that will represent the team is a lion holding a hockey stick perched on top of the word "Royals". The lion has a maple leaf on one of his forelegs to represent the team's Canadian roots, and the serif coming off of the letter "R" in the word Royals creates the letter "V" that stands for Victoria.
The colours for the Royals will be royal blue, black, white, red and silver. The jerseys are blue, white and black, and are the same design used by the National Hockey League's Tampa Bay Lightning for their third jersey.

(21 Jun 2011)
Leagues statistic
Past league results:
League standings:
Historic statistic:
Individuals records:
Fast factsseason 2023-2024

Sheffield Steelers win Grand Slam

Sheffield Steelers (EIHL) claimed the third trophy on offer to clinch a Grand slam of trophies from the Eihl. Read more»

Two down one to go for EIHL team

Having clinched the Challenge Cup on Wednesday the Sheffield Steelers (EIHL) made it two trophys yesterday as they clinched the Elite league title. Read more»

© Copyright 2024 European Ice Hockey Online AB & eSports.cz s.r.o. | info@eurohockey.com | Cookies settings
Hokejová výstroj